Alameda County Trauma Center Information

A devastating car crash on I-880 or a violent attack anywhere in Alameda County might leave you or a loved one in need of urgent, life-saving care. The best care available will be found at local Trauma Centers.

Alameda County is home to many emergency rooms and 3 trauma centers to provide emergency care to accident victims. Knowing where the closest trauma center is can help you find help and loved ones faster.

Where Are the Closest Trauma Centers in Alameda County?

After a traffic accident, an attack involving a gun or knife, or a dangerous fall, victims may end up at any of a number of local emergency rooms across Alameda County. Patients may be rushed to places like Washington Hospital in Fremont or the Tri-Valley Medical Center in Livermore.

However, when injuries are severe, victims may be taken directly to a Trauma Center. They are equipped to give life-saving care to people with traumatic injuries. Trauma Departments provide access to specialized doctors and the latest equipment to give patients the best chance of survival.

There are three trauma centers in Alameda County.  Highland Hospital in Oakland is the East Bay’s only adult Level 1 Trauma Center. It features 24/7 specialists in orthopedic surgery, neurosurgery, anesthesiology, radiology, internal medicine, and oral and maxillofacial surgery. The hospital also has state-of-the-art operating rooms.

There’s also a trauma department that focuses on the treatment of children with traumatic injuries at The Children’s Hospital of Oakland. There’s a Level II Adult Trauma Department at Eden Medical Center near Pleasanton.

Highland Hospital – Level I Trauma Center

1411 E 31st Street

Oakland, CA 94602



UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland — Level I Child Trauma Care Center

747 52nd Street

Oakland, CA 94609



Eden Medical Center – Level II Trauma Center

20103 Lake Chabot Road

Castro Valley, CA 94546


Where Are Other Trauma Centers in the Bay Area?

Patients in Alameda County may also be flown to the Level I Trauma Center at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center in San Jose or the Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center.

There’s also a Level I Adult Trauma Care facility at Standford Medicine in Palo Alto. The hospital also features a Level I Pediatric Trauma Center.

What is a Trauma Center?

Trauma centers are usually extensions of emergency departments at hospitals. They are places designed to get those with traumatic, life-threatening injuries, the quickest and best care possible. They are staffed with specialized surgeons and nurses who can take action at a moment’s notice to give victims the best chance of survival. The equipment available in a trauma center will be the most advanced available.

Victims who suffer from blunt-force trauma injuries are often rushed to Trauma Centers. This would include those involved in traffic accidents or people who suffer a fall from a great height. Burn victims, gunshot victims, and stabbing victims will usually be rushed to the nearest trauma team. A patient brought in after a serious accident may be in surgery within minutes of arrival.

What’s the Highest Level of Trauma Center?

Trauma centers are grouped into categories according to the level of care they provide. They are designated on a scale of either I, II, III, or IV, with I being the highest certification a trauma center can be assigned.

California uses this level system to designate the type of trauma care available at each center. These are defined by the California Local Emergency Medical Services Authority (LEMSA).

Level I and level II trauma centers are equipped and staffed to offer the highest level of medical care. They have similar medical professionals and resources with the greatest difference being that level I’s are research and teaching facilities.

Level III and level IV trauma centers generally provide initial stabilization of trauma patients. Some patients are transferred from Level III and IV to Level I & II when needed. Level III facilities generally have more advanced surgical capabilities than Level IV facilities.

Pediatric trauma centers focus specifically on care for infants, children, and adolescents. The Level I pediatric centers require some additional pediatric specialties, research, and teaching responsibilities.

Contact a Fremont Traumatic Injury Attorney

If you or a loved one suffers a serious or even life-threatening injury in an accident anywhere in Alameda County, schedule a free consultation with a Fremont Personal Injury Lawyer. If someone’s carelessness or recklessness caused the accident, victims should never have to pay for their recoveries. They should also get full support in rebuilding their lives.

If you decide Maison Law Accident & Injury Lawyers of Fremont can help you and your family earn more in a traumatic injury settlement, you won’t need any money to hire us. We don’t get paid unless we win your case for you. Then our fee comes out of the settlement you are awarded.